View All Posts

Jan 19

Advisory Districting Committee begins its work

Posted on January 19, 2018 at 5:40 pm by Clay Curtin

By: Clay Curtin

The full Advisory Districting Committee is now seated and will hold its first meeting at 7 p.m., Monday, January 22, 2018.

At the January 16, 2018, City Council meeting, the first three members were selected by random draw from among 26 eligible candidates. Committee members Mark Heim, Michael Hoff, and Honor Huntington then met on Friday, January 19, to select the remaining six members. The Committee members took into consideration the factors outlined in Resolution No. 6418 which established the Committee. They employed a random selection process that drew candidates  from different geographic areas of the city.

The final six members selected include Carolyn Bowsher, Katie Cage, Michael Cohen, Nicholas Taylor, Joan Westley and Karen Zak.

The full committee will now begin work on its recommendations for two options to be presented to the City Council in March:
  • A recommendation for dividing the City into five voting districts, and
  • A recommendation for dividing the City into six voting districts (with an at-large elected mayor)
Each option will also include an election sequencing recommendation. Election sequencing shall take into account the City’s practice of staggering elections every two years and in accordance with State law shall not cut short any existing City Councilmember’s term.
Please visit the District Elections webpage for more information.

Advisory Districting Committee candidate pool