View All Posts

Sep 14

California's 3' Passing Law Takes Effect Sept. 16th

Posted on September 14, 2014 at 1:20 am by Clay Curtin

On Tuesday, September 16, 2014, the new “Three Feet for Safety” Act goes into effect. The Act requires drivers to give at least three feet of clearance to bicyclists when passing, and to do so only when safe. If a driver cannot give three feet of space, then the new law instructs a driver to slow down and wait behind the bicyclist until it is safe to pass. The law puts into practice long-publicized guidance from DMV for motorist and bicycle interactions. The new law reinforces the need for all people to travel carefully, whether on foot, on bike, or in a vehicle. Violators of the law could face a base fine of $35, unless a bicyclist is injured as a result of a collision. Then, the fine is $220 plus court fees. More information is available on the California DMV website.