Children

Storytimes


View the storytime schedule for the Main Library.

STEAM

STEAM: Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, & Math. Join us for some fun, hands-on, brain-stimulating activities!
Collage of STEAM series events

Paper Cup Parrots
Saturday, Jan. 12
10:30--11:15 am
Main
Ages 3-5
* Registration required *
San Francisco Bay Bird Observatory Family Science Fair
Sunday, Jan. 13
2:00--3:00 pm
Belle Haven
Ages 6-12 with adult
Junior Rangers: All About Birds
Tuesday, Jan. 15
4:00--5:00 pm
Main
Ages 7-12
* Registration required *
Instrument Petting Zoo
Thursday, Jan. 17
7:00--8:00 pm
Main
Ages 10 and under, with adult
Storyteller John Weaver: These Stories are for the Birds!
Thursday, Jan. 24
4:00--4:45 pm
Main
Ages 5-Adult
Instrument Petting Zoo
Sunday, Jan. 27
2:00--3:00 pm
Belle Haven
Ages 10 and under, with adult

Science Made Fun:
Newton in a Nutshell
Thursday, Jan. 31
4:00--5:00 pm
Main
Grades 1-5
* Registration required *
Family Valentine WorkshopSaturday, Feb. 9
10:30 am -- Noon
Main
Ages 5+, with adult
* Registration required *
Family Valentine Workshop
Saturday, Feb. 9
1:00--2:30 pm
Belle Haven
Ages 5+, with adult

Make Your Own Minicomic
Sunday, Feb. 10
2:00--3:00 pm
Belle Haven
Ages 8-12
Puppet-Building WorkshopSaturday, Feb. 23
10:30--11:45 am
Main
Ages 7-10
* Registration Required *
Cartooning Basics
with Sirron Norris
Sunday, Feb. 24
2:00--3:00 pm
Belle Haven
Ages 7-15
Mad Science:
Movie Special Effects
Thursday, Feb 28
7:00--8:00 pm
Main
Especially for ages 5-12, with adult
Adventures in Recycling:
Bookmaking Workshop
Saturday, March 9
10:30 am -- Noon
Main
Ages 5+, with adult
* Registration Required *
Adventures in Recycling:
Bookmaking Workshop

Saturday, March 9
1:00--2:30 pm
Belle Haven
Ages 5+, with adult
Norcal Bats
Sunday, March 10
2:00--3:00 pm
Belle Haven
All ages
Science Made Fun:
The Power of Light
Thursday, March 14
4:00--5:00 pm
Main
Grades 1-5
* Registration Required *
How to Read Aloud
Like an Actor
Wednesday, March 20
3:30--5:30 pm
Main
Grades 3-6
* Registration Required *
Art Around the World:
Russia
Saturday, March 23
10:30 am -- Noon
Main
Ages 6-11
* Registration Required *
Science Tellers:
Wild West Show
Sunday, March 24
2:00--3:00 pm
Belle Haven
Ages 5+, with adult
Science Night
Thursday, March 28
6:30--8:00 pm
Main
All ages
Bay Area Discovery Museum:
Measurement and Me
Saturday, April 6
10:30--11:30 am
Main
Ages 3-6
* Registration Required *
Oceans Rock!
Sunday, April 14
2:00--3:00 pm
Belle Haven
Grades K-6, with adult
Dinosaurs Rock
Thursday, April 25
7:00--8:00 pm
Main
Grades K-6, with adult
Art Around the World:
Australia
Saturday, April 27
10:30 am -- Noon
Main
Ages 6-11
* Registration Required *
Science Made Fun:
Jurassic Classic
Sunday, April 28
2:00--3:00 pm
Belle Haven
Grades 1-5
* Registration Required *
Bay Area Discovery Museum Try-It TruckThursday, May 2
3:00--5:00 pm
Belle Haven
Grades K-5
Science Tellers:
Aliens! Escape from Earth
Thursday, May 23
7:00--8:00 pm
Main Library
Ages 5+, with adult

Art Around the World:
Japan
Saturday, May 25
10:30 am -- Noon
Main
Ages 6-11
* Registration Required *

World Read-Aloud Day

Illustration depicting reading animals in paradeFriday, February 1 (both locations): Join us from 3:30--5:30, as special guest readers from the Menlo Park community share their favorite books!

The Boy Who Cried Wolf

Puppet image
Thursday, February 7: Join us after hours for a hilarious family show from Puppet Art Theater!

Booklists


Get book recommendations!  Lists by age, grade and genre are available for children and teens on our Staff Picks page.

January 2019

S M T W T F S
30 31 01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 01 02
View All